It’s always Sunny at the Bottom of a wine can…

I recently watched an episode of “Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia” where the gang gives Frank an intervention. To me,  Watching “Always Sunny in Philadelphia” for the first time is like drinking wine for the first time.  Very rarely does a person actually love it and it takes a few attempts to find the right flavor/episode for you, but once you do you’re hooked.

In the “intervention” episode Frank, played by Danny DeVito, has taken to drinking boxed wine out of diet cola cans.  Eventually The Gang’s intervention fails, as they all find benefits to drinking wine out of a can….and well, they’re incapable of doing good, as everything they do is motivated by their own selfish needs and the episode ends with everyone drinking boxed wine from a can…

Tonight I am drinking a a 2004  Pinot Riche by the Maragas Winery in Bend, Oregon, out of a glass, thank you very much.   It is a light champagne color, and upon opening it (I really like the cork, it has a cute dog on it) I am overwhelmed with the smell of apples and alcohol.  I let it breathe for about 10 minutes (well, I’d planned on drinking it right away, but I had to get my kids to bed) before I took a drink.  It is very sweet, dry and has a very strong apple taste.   I really like it. Its the closest thing I’ve had  to my blessed Pinot Blanc of last week.  Of course, Jordan hates it. Its too sweet for him.  But again, his judgement is flawed…..remember, he ate duck tongues, likes extra hoppy IPA and malt vinegar on his fries. S o far, the Pinot Riche is one of my favorites and may be a wine I keep around for entertaining.

Speaking of entertaining…..if you are interested in a show that will make you laugh, genuine belly laughs, and also disturb you (and you may question how F’d up you are by laughing at some of the jokes) I urge to open your favorite bottle of wine and watch “Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia”.   And please, gang, if you ever catch me drinking boxed wine out of a diet cola can, its time for an intervention.

Leave a comment