Hello Merlot!

Tonight I am trying Merlot for (I think) the first time.  I’m excited, as it is the wine that most people I’ve asked say is their favorite, granted nobody said I need to try the 2008 Sutterhome Merlot.  I’m sure somewhere out there there is a wine connoisseur who will cry himself to sleep tonight knowing my first taste of Merlot was Sutterhome.  Fear not, Mr. Connoisseur, I will not judge the Merlot by the 2008 Sutterhome.

So, I’m three sips in and so far I’m really liking it, although truth be told I can’t tell the difference between it and the Cabernet from night two.  I think the Merlot is maybe a little lighter and a little sweeter.  It is hitting me the same way the Cabernet did. I’m three sips in and arms are getting warm, my cheeks are flush and I have that warm feeling in my chest.  I’m such a lightweight!

In discussing my blog with my friends I’ve realized I have a lot to learn, and I’m a little overwhelmed by it all.  I’ve even had the offer of a wine tutor!!  A tutor!  I’ve always been a good student, but how does one teach a palate the way of the wine?  I am curious to know. I also need to get new wine glasses, as  I have one, and according to what I’ve read (and my husband, Jordan), each kind of wine has its own glass.  I think I also need a corkscrew, some fancy cheese, and wine rack.  So, if any of you out there are wanting to donate goods or bottles of wine…email me and I’ll send you my address 🙂

Ok, I just finished my first glass of Merlot. I think it tastes the most like grape juice out of the wines I’ve tried.  Oh, I almost forgot, I tried the Chardonnay last night….not impressed. It was too sweet and gave me a head ache.  So, back to the Merlot…. I like it. I like it a lot. I like it so much I just poured my second glass and finished off my tiny airplane size bottle.  Christina is getting drunk tonight my friends. Alone.  For the first time in my life.  Wow. I have never been drunk alone. …but then again, I guess I’m not alone…. I have you….out there…somewhere……. Cheers!

2 Comments »

  1. Your husband Said:

    Hey there.. I liked your blog. I’m just downstairs, so technically you’re not alone. See, here you come down the stairs to scare me. you didn’t think I heard the gate close, but I did. Love you

  2. Sharon Said:

    I love these! Keep posting; you are an awesome writer!

    P.S. I agree; Merlot is kinda grape-juicy. My problem would be stopping at one glass per night! Good luck in your wine journey!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment